IMPORTANT: Please make sure the bridge has been updated to the latest Firmware before beginning this procedure.
The process of transferring a bridge to a different customer involves unregistering from the current customer, and then registering the bridge to the new customer. This is required because of the way the portal links the devices together for the account, and also helps prevent accidental transfers. There are two different scenarios when unregistering a bridge.
While the bridge is online
If the bridge is currently online and connected to the portal, you can simply click to unregister and the bridge will get the notice it has be unregistered from the current customer account. You can confirm this was successful on the bridge by watching the blue status LED. It should change from solid on, to a quick double-blink when the registration is removed. As soon as the blue LED is doing the quick double-blink, it is "Ready to register" to the new customer. If the blue LED does not change states, please power cycle the device and wait for the quick double-blink indicating it is ready to register.
While the bridge is offline
Sometimes it is necessary to unregister a bridge from a customer account while the bridge is offline. This can occur due to network problems/outages, or voltage issues. The bridge can still be unregistered in this state, but requires a reboot. You can unregister a bridge while it is offline, but in this case power cycling the bridge is required. This does not apply if the bridge is powered down completely. As soon as the blue LED is doing the quick double-blink, it is "Ready to register"to the new customer.
Please ensure you have a working internet connection to the bridge before attempting to register the bridge. Registration will not complete if the bridge is not able to communicate with the portal. You can check the status of the internet connection by observing the blue LED
- Off - No LAN connection or no IP Address Information. Check LAN cable, and network equipment (including DHCP server).
- Single blink - LAN connection and IP Address received from DHCP. Unable to communicate with the CHeKT cloud. Check internet/DNS. Also ensure outbound communication isn't being blocked by a firewall.
- Double blink - The bridge is communicating with the CHeKT cloud, but it is not registered to a customer.
- Solid - The bridge is registered, online, and operational.